I had Chinese food for dinner last night. As usual, there was a fortune cookie as an accompaniment. Even if I don’t eat the cookie, curiosity always gets the better of me. I find that I must open it, and read the little printed slip of insightfulness tucked neatly within. Last night was no different. It read, “A window of opportunity won’t open itself” To which I thought, Neither will a bottle of alcohol!” And just like that with the proverbial kick in the pants and a glass of wine, I’m officially launching my new blog site. Welcome to Guided Pours!

GP fortune cookie

I would label myself as an adult beverage aficionado defined as, a person who is very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about an activity, subject, or pastime.” Anyone who knows me, even in the slightest, will whole-heartedly agree that I embody that title and its description. As such, I have traveled extensively throughout the United States, and ventured beyond its borders tasting, sipping and sampling my way through breweries, wineries, cideries, meaderies, and distilleries. If there’s alcohol involved, inevitably so am I. gp-02

Calling Western New York my home since 2010, I can confidently say that this area is thriving and succeeding in the creation of the some of the finest potations of pleasure. Whether beer, wine, distilled spirits, cider, or mead is your passion, I’m here to help you navigate through them all. I will be sharing my experiences and knowledge weekly so that you’re well-informed of the options and variety that is awaiting you, not only in and around Buffalo, NY and Niagara Falls, but also throughout the Finger Lakes, Rochester, and Chautauqua regions, and more. Have alcohol, (I) will travel… (… ALWAYS with a designated driver, of course!)

GP 03

This blog is intended to be fun, as well as informative. I am not a critic, nor will I be writing reviews. My goal is simply to share what I know about where I go when I’m seeking new alcoholic libations. I’m hopeful my insights and experiences will inspire you to venture away from your computers and tab-top cans, and experience the exciting and ever-evolving world of locally-crafted, adult refreshments. Please allow me to be your official Pour Guide!Guided Pours Logo copy

